Bethel Lutheran Nursing and Rehabilitation Center What's New
Home What's new Events Services Admissions Employment/Volunteer Foundation Photo Gallery About Us Contact Us

COVID-19 Vaccination

November 20, 2020



December 14, 2020  COVID-19 links are listed below.


 


Dear Bethel families, tenants, and residents;


 As many of you are aware, the FDA will be approving a COVID-19 vaccination in the very near future. The safety and well-being of our residents, tenants, and staff is our top priority. In our ongoing effort to further minimize the risk COVID-19 poses I am including the attached information & consent for your review and consideration. Without a doubt, I, along with the staff, realize this is a difficult decision and there is a lot of misinformation circulating. The information attached is directly from the Centers for Disease Control, and the most up to date in regards to the vaccination, when/if it will be available, and the benefits and risks involved in consenting to the vaccination. The managerial staff of Bethel, as always, are available to assist you in answering your questions and concerns to the best of our ability. Please do not hesitate to contact any of us at any time at 701-572-6766.


Samantha Bell, LPN, Unit Nurse Manager, sbell@blnrc.com

Edith Cha-Ong, RN, Unit Nurse Manager, echaong@blnr.com

Tanya Geise, RN, Director of Nursing, tgeise@blnrc.com

Dawn Birkeland, LPN, Infection Control & Employee Education, dbirkeland@blnrc.com

Valerie Gunnerson, LBSW, Social Worker, vgunnerson@blnrc.com

Leah Paulsen, LBSW, Social Worker, lpaulsen@blnrc.com

Sarah Tappenden, LBSW, Social Worker, stappenden@blnrc.com

Tammra Peterson, RN, Administrator, tpeterson@blnrc.com


For information about the vaccine please refer to our web site https://www.blnrc.com/ .  Click on the “What’s New” tab and choose “COVID-19 Vaccination.”  At the bottom of the letter there are links for reading on the COVID-19 vaccination.

 

In visiting with the North Dakota Department of Health yesterday the plan is to start distributing the vaccine to long term care facilities the week of 12/27/20. The plan, if the moderna COVID-19 vaccination is approved on Thursday, will be the brand of vaccine that long term facilities will receive. Reason is that this product can be stored in the regular freezer and after thawed is stable for 30 days in the refrigerator.  The fact sheet for the moderna COVID-19 vaccine will not be released until the moderna product has been approved under the emergency use authorization, which will be sometime after Thursday. Once this fact sheet has been released, we will place this on the Bethel website.


We understand this is a very difficult decision for all involved. Please reach out if you should have any questions. Included in the mailed packet will be literature in regards to the vaccine and a paper consent. To facilitate this process quicker prior to receiving the mailed consent please notify your social worker either by phone or e-mail on the acceptance or declination of the COVID-19 vaccination for your loved one. We also request that you return the paper consent form in the already addressed envelope.   


Thank you for allowing us the privilege to care for you and/or your loved ones. It is an honor.


Happy Holidays,


 

Tammra Peterson, RN

Administrator

 


What's New